Recent Prize Winner

Students need to read one recent prize winner or nominee. There are three prizes which are in this category:

Man Booker (
Pulitzer (
Costa Book Awards (

Recent is seen as the last ten years. Any novel older than ten years will be automatically placed in the ‘Free Choice’ category.

Nominees (short listed, finalists) will only be mentioned when a student has put it on his or her list. Complete lists of nominees can be found at their appropriate websites.

Man Booker

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction is a literary prize awarded each year for the best original novel, written in the English language, and published in the UK. The winner of the Man Booker Prize is generally assured of international renown and success; therefore, the prize is of great significance for the book trade. The Man Booker prize is awarded every October.

Man Booker (website)

2007 – Anne Enright, The Gathering [Open Option for 1819-students]

2008 – Aravind Adiga, The White Tiger
2009 – Hillary Mantel, Wolf Hall
2010 – Howard Jacobson, The Finkler Question
2010 – Emma Donaghue, Room
2011 – Julian Barnes, The Sense of an Ending
2012 – Hillary Mantel, Bring up the Bodies
2013 – Eleanor Catton, The Luminaries
2013 – Jim Crace, Harvest
2014 – Richard Flanagan, The Narrow Road to the Deep North
2014 – Ali Smith, How to be Both
2015 – Marlon James, A Brief History of Seven Killings
2016 – Paul Beaty, The Sellout
2017 – George Saunders, Lincoln in the Bardo

Pulitzer Prize

The Pulitzer Prize for Fiction is one of the seven American Pulitzer Prizes that are annually awarded for Letters, Drama, and Music. It recognizes distinguished fiction by an American author, preferably dealing with American life, published during the preceding calendar year. The Pulitzer Prize is awarded every April.

A full list can be found here (including finalists, which are the ‘nominees’): Pulitzer Prize for Fiction

Pulitzer (website)

2007 – Cormac McCarthy, The Road [Open Option for 1819-students]

2008 – Junot Diaz, The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao
2009 – Elizabeth Strout, Olive Kitteridge
2010 – Paul Harding, Paul Harding
2011 – Jennifer Egan, A Visit from the Goon Squad
2012 – no award
2013 – Adam Johnson, The Orphan Master’s Son
2014 – Donna Tartt, The Goldfinch
2015 – Anthony Doerr, All the Light We Cannot See
2016 – Viet Thanh Nguyen, The Sympathizer
2017 – Colson Whitehead, The Underground Railroad
2018 – Andrew Sean Greer, Less

Costa Book Award

The Costa Book Awards are a set of annual literary awards recognising English-language books by writers based in Britain and Ireland. They were inaugurated for 1971 publications and known as the Whitbread Book Awards until 2006 when Costa Coffee, a subsidiary of Whitbread, took over sponsorship. There are six awards,. Most relevant here are the Novel Award and the Book of the Year Award. If the Book of the Year (BotY) award is a novel, it is also mentioned. The Costa Book Award is announced every January.

Costa Book Award (website)

2007 – A. L. Kennedy, Day [Open Option for 1819-students]

2008 – Sebastian Barry, The Secret Scripture
2009 – Colm Tóibín, Brooklyn
2010 – Maggie O’Farrell, The Hand that First Held Mine
2011 – Andrew Miller, Pure
2012 – Hilary Mantel, Bring Up The Bodies
2013 – Kate Atkinson, Life After Life
2013 (BotY)- Nathan Filer, The Shock of the Fall
2014 – Ali Smith, How to be both
2015 – Kate Atkinson, A God in Ruins
2016 – Sebastian Barry, Days Without End
2017 – Jon McGregor, Reservoir 13